34. there’s a bluebird in my heart.

This is the kind of work that gives me hope. My love-hate relationship with my major sometimes leaves me without anything positive to think about advertising. All it is, is selling stuff, isn’t it? Can it be something more?

The poetry of Charles Bukowski matched with vibrant visuals is music to my soul. This kind of work makes me believe that maybe, we are, as Bill Bernbach put it, “The shapers of society. We can vulgarize that society. We can brutalize it. Or we can help lift it onto a higher level.”

That is what the bluebird in my heart is saying. Singing, actually.

Austin Kleon says that we must write the books that we want to read, and create the art that we want to look at.

I hope I can live up to that.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

