32. the art of joking

If you can’t take a joke, I’m sorry, but I probably won’t be friends with you for long.

Life is too short to be taken seriously- something Oscar Wilde said. Yeah, the same dude who wrote The Importance of Being Earnest, and other comedies for the stage. In my opinion, laughter is sunshine to the soul, and as vital a part of life as eating or sleeping. A good sense of humor is an important asset (to being my friend, at the very least).

There’s a trick to it though:

Making fun of autistic children = NO.

Making fun of your friends = depends on the situation, (and how much they make fun of you- it should be reciprocal, to be healthy)

Making fun of yourself = always safe. I find it rather hard to hurt my own feelings, and when I do, I don’t hold a grudge for long.

I found these Lebron/Kobe Muppet commercials a while back, and I love the tone. They are light, irreverent and poke fun at sports stars- also good targets since most everyone has an opinion about them and they are too famous and talented to take themselves seriously as well.

The 2nd one is thrown in thrown in there just for fun. It’s weird, has almost nothing to do with basketball, but it says a lot about Lebron’s sense of humor, as well as his dedication. Check out all the other MVPuppets commercials, they are equally entertaining

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

