31. Education

Education is a beautiful thing, isn’t it?

I consider it a gift to be here at school, tasked with learning and developing new skills, but I sometimes forget what a blessing it is.

In Sociology today, we talked about the introduction of the assembly line to speed production, and how workers are turned into drones (see last post). More specifically we discussed the various techniques “blue collar” workers will employ to keep boredom at bay doing their monotonous tasks. Things like singing to themselves, daydreaming and so on are fairly harmless, but some of the effects can be dire. The point is, we all need to be challenged, to keep from getting bored but also just to build self-respect and worth.

I realized that it is a blessing to be going to school studying something I am interested in, and aspire to do. I am often beset with worries that I will not be able to measure up to the job of art director, creative or account person, or whatever field of work I pursue after college.

What I was reminded of today is that I am grateful to be pursuing a job that challenges me, that forces me to continue to learn and expand my knowledge even after finishing school. I am now galvanized by pursing a career that does challenge me and keep me from getting complacent.

“Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss you’ll land among the stars”

Cheesy quote, I know, but there is truth and hope there. We all need hope to live.

read a short story about blue collar work Here Ch 3 Rivethead

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

